Make an appointment with a cancer specialist today.
Call us at 800-KARMANOS (800-527-6266)
Home / Media Room

Media Room

77 Karmanos physicians make prestigious 2014 Best Doctors in America® list


Seventy-seven physicians affiliated with Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute appear on the Best Doctors in America® List for 2014. Only five percent of doctors in America earn this prestigious honor.

“Our doctors are what set us apart,” said Karmanos President and CEO Gerold Bepler, M.D., Ph.D. “It’s their dedication to our patients that helps us to maintain our position as one of the very best comprehensive cancer centers in the country.”

The Best Doctors in America® List, assembled by Best Doctors, Inc. and audited and certified by Gallup®, results from exhaustive polling of over 45,000 physicians in the United States.  In a confidential review, current physician listees answer the question, “If you or a loved one needed a doctor in your specialty, to whom would you refer?”  Best Doctors, Inc. evaluates the review results, and verifies all additional information to meet detailed inclusion criteria.

The experts who are part of the Best Doctors in America® database provide the most advanced medical expertise and knowledge to patients with serious conditions – often saving lives in the process by pinpointing the right diagnosis and securing access to treatment not available at other hospitals.

Karmanos physicians listed in the database include:  

Gary W. Abrams - Ophthalmology
Lois J. Ayash - Medical Oncology and Hematology
M. Safwan Badr - Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Geoffrey R. Barger - Neurology
Gerold Bepler - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Evanthia Bernitsas - Neurology
Kanta Bhambhani - Pediatric Specialist
Pratik Bhattacharya - Neurology
Patricia Diane Brown - Infectious Disease
Pravit Cadnapaphornchai - Nephrology
Pranatharthi Chandrasekar - Infectious Disease
Seemant Chaturvedi - Neurology
Michael L. Cher - Urology
Jonathan A. Cohn - Infectious Disease
Lawrence R. Crane - Infectious Disease
Gunter Deppe - Obstetrics and Gynecology
Murray N. Ehrinpreis - Gastroenterology
Maher Fakhouri - Neurology
Lawrence E. Flaherty - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Joseph A. Fontana - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Robert N. Frank - Ophthalmology
Shirish M. Gadgeel - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Murali Guthikonda - Neurological Surgery
Monte L. Harvill - Radiology
Lawrence J. Horn - Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
John R. Jacobs - Otolaryngology
M. Salik Jahania - Thoracic Surgery
Mark Juzych - Ophthalmology
John Kamholz - Neurology
Keith Kaye - Infectious Disease
Omar Azhar Khan - Neurology
Harold Eunwoo Kim - Radiation Oncology
Dana G. Kissner - Critical Care and Pulmonary Medicine
Willane Krell - Pulmonary Medicine
William J. Kupsky - Pathology
Anna M. Ledgerwood - Surgery
Donald P. Levine - Infectious Disease
Ho-Sheng Lin - Otolaryngology
Robert P. Lisak - Neurology
Peter J. Littrup - Radiology
Patricia LoRusso - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Ramesh Madhavan - Neurology
Robert Mathog - Otolaryngology
Darius Mehregan - Dermatology
Stephen D. Migdal - Nephrology
Sandeep Mittal - Neurological Surgery
Edwin M. Monsell - Otolaryngology
Robert T. Morris - Obstetrics and Gynecology
Milton Mutchnick - Gastroenterology
Philip A. Philip - Medical Oncology and Hematology
J. Edson Ponte - Urology
Isaac Powell  - Urology
Kumar Rajamani - Neurology
Voravit Ratanatharathorn - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Yaddanapudi Ravindranath - Pediatric Specialist
Noreen Rossi - Nephrology
James Andrew Rowley - Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Wael A. Sakr - Pathology
Sureyya Savasan - Pediatric Specialist
Charles A. Schiffer - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Aashit K. Shah - Neurology
Anthony F. Shields - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Jack D. Sobe - Infectious Disease
Leigh Ann Solomon - Obstetrics and Gynecology
Gabriel Sosne - Ophthalmology
Manuel E. Tancer - Psychiatry
Jeffrey A. Triest - Urology
Alexandros Tselis  - Neurology
Gerald E. Turlo - Internal Medicine
Joseph Primo Uberti - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Ulka N. Vaishampayan - Medical Oncology and Hematology
Alice Cheng Watson - Dermatology
Donald W. Weaver - Surgery and Surgical Oncology
Antoinette J. (Toni) Wozniak - Medical Oncology and Hematology
George Yoo - Otolaryngology
Maria M. Zestos - Pediatric Specialist
Alkis P. Zingas - Radiology

About Best Doctors, Inc.:
Best Doctors works with the best five percent of doctors, ranked by impartial peer review, to help people get the right diagnosis and right treatment. The company’s innovative, peer-to-peer consultation service offers a convenient new way for physicians to collaborate with other physicians to ensure patients receive the best care. The global health solutions company, which has grown to over 30 million members worldwide, uses state-of-the-art technology capabilities to deliver improved health outcomes while reducing costs. Gallup® has audited and certified Best Doctors’ database of physicians, and its companion Best Doctors in America® List, as using the highest industry standards survey methodology and processes. Founded in 1989 by Harvard Medical School physicians, Best Doctors seamlessly integrates its trusted health services with Fortune 500 and Fortune 1000 employers, insurers and other groups in every major region of the world. The company also designs and implements international insurance programs that help people be sure they get the right health solutions.

For further information, visit Best Doctors at, Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn, or call (800) 223-5003.


© 2014 Karmanos Cancer Institute Pencil
The Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Center is accredited by The Joint Commission.
If members of the public have any quality-of-care or safety concerns, they may notify The Joint Commission at 630-792-5800.