Make an appointment with a cancer specialist today.
Call us at 800-KARMANOS (800-527-6266)


Karmanos nurse receives prestigious award for excellence

Melody Jolly

Melody Jolly, RN-BC, a Professional Development Ladder level 3, board certified surgical oncology nurse on 9 WN, was recently honored with the prestigious Nightingale Award for Staff Nursing Practice. In recognition of this award, she was presented with a bronze statue of Florence Nightingale and a $1,000 check.

Oakland University's School of Nursing Board of Visitors established the Nightingale Awards for Nursing in 1989 to recognize the nursing profession and promote nursing's essential health care role.

“The Nightingale Awards recognize excellence in nursing,” said Vice President of Cancer Patient Services, Chief Nursing Officer Karen Goldman, RN, MSN, AON. “It is quite an honor to receive this recognition and we are very proud of Melody Jolly.  This award is synonymous with being among the best in the nursing profession.”

Goldman added that nurses from the Karmanos Cancer Center have won Nightingale Awards in five of the last nine years.  “We have a culture of providing high quality, compassionate care to our cancer patients at Karmanos.  “Our nursing team is committed to superior care.” 

Jolly demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in all of the required criteria for the Nightingale award. She frequently and consistently received commendations from patients and families, many of whom came back to visit her after discharge.

For the past four years, she mentored Madonna University student nurses during their immersion rotation. She precepts orientees and is shadowed by many students who consistently praise her. She is chairperson of the 9WN unit nurse practice committee. She is an expert in patient education and is patient education liaison for 9WN.

She presented Evidence-Based Practice programs at Oncology Nurse Practice Committee meetings and at national nursing conferences. Jolly organizes unit activities, has maintained a Star bulletin board on 9WN and composed a scrapbook of unit activities, unit awards and patient thank you letters.

She is a member of the Oncology Nursing Society and the Society of Oncology Head and Neck Nurses.

The Nightingale Awards are named after Florence Nightingale (1820-1910), a nurse pioneer, researcher and beloved founder of modern nursing.  She was born in Florence, Italy and named after the city where she was born. Because she died in 1910, the United Nations has been lobbied to officially declare 2010 as the international year of the nurse.
© 2014 Karmanos Cancer Institute Pencil
The Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Center is accredited by The Joint Commission.
If members of the public have any quality-of-care or safety concerns, they may notify The Joint Commission at 630-792-5800.