Leadership at Karmanos

Karmanos Cancer Institute

Tim Monahan
Chair, Board of Directors

Gerold Bepler, M.D., Ph.D.
President & CEO

Ann Schwartz, Ph.D.
VP, Deputy Director, Research & Associate Center Director, Population Sciences  

Brian Gamble
Chief Financial Officer

Michele Cote, Ph.D.
Associate Center Director, Education

Elisabeth Heath, M.D.
Associate Center Director, Translational Sciences

Lawrence Matherly, Ph.D.
Associate Center Director, Basic Sciences

Evano Piasentin
Associate Center Director, Research Administration

Anthony Shields, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Center Director, Clinical Sciences & Community Oncology

Hayley Thompson, Ph.D.
Associate Center Director, Community Outreach & Education

Program Leaders

Juri Gelovani, M.D.
Leader, Molecular Imaging Program

Lawrence Matherly, Ph.D.
Leader, Molecular Therapeutics Program

Kay-Uwe Wagner, Ph.D.
Leader, Tumor Biology & Microenvironment Program 

Jennifer Beebe-Dimmer, Ph.D.
Leader, Population Studies & Disparities Research

Karmanos Cancer Hospital

Tom Kalas
Chair, Board of Directors

Justin Klamerus, M.D., MMM

Christopher Graunstadt
Vice President of Operations

Kathleen Carolin
Chief Nursing Officer

George Yoo, M.D.
Chief Medical Officer

The Latest From Karmanos Cancer Institute


Shari Ferber Kaufman joins Karmanos Cancer Institute Board of Directors

The Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute is pleased to announce the election of Shari Ferber Kaufman to its board of directors. Kaufman will serve...

Read More

Karmanos awarded President's Trophy for second year in a row by McLaren Health Care

For the second year in a row, the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute has been named the recipient of the President’s Trophy by the McLaren Heal...

Read More

Introducing the new Karmanos.org

The Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute is excited to announce the launch of the new and improved Karmanos.org website. The new website has easy...

Read More